The Love Window

Sacred Chants of Devotion

Love Window CD Cover

by Shantala with Heather and Benjy Wertheimer

Cave Hand

Ancient-Future.Com 3002. Wolf Club Music. CD- $16.98:


The Love Window features Benjy and Heather Wertheimer and a chorus of voices performing the sacred chants. Benjy and Heather Wertheimer, also known as the musical duo Shantala, lead devotional chanting Kirtan events for workshops and at yoga centers across the U.S. and in Costa Rica.

Benjy Wertheimer, a founding member of the internationally acclaimed world fusion music ensemble Ancient Future, has studied Indian classical music for over 20 years with some of the greatest masters of that tradition (including Alla Rakha, Zakir Hussain, Ali Akbar Khan and Z. M. Dagar). An award-winning songwriter, composer, multi-instrumentalist (playing tabla, congas, percussion, esraj, guitar, and keyboards) and vocalist, Benjy frequently tours and records with Krishna Das. He has also toured the US, Canada, and Japan with renowned bamboo flute master G.S. Sachdev, and opened for such artists as Carlos Santana, Paul Winter, and Narada Michael Walden.

Heather is a singer, songwriter, guitarist, yoga teacher, and therapist, whose beautiful vocals, unique perspectives and unusual depth reflect a wide array of human experiences. Heather performs and tours with Benjy and with virtuoso guitarist Michael Mandrell. She combines her special love of both music and yoga to lead devotional chanting for workshops and spiritual gatherings. Her debut CD with Shantala, Church of Sky, is a contemporary folk CD with musical influences from around the world. In the past, Heather was a featured vocalist in the musical "Return to Avalon" and has performed throughout the Northwest with the groups HeartStrings and Lonesome Taxi.

The Line Up

Benjy Wertheimer (vocals, esraj, tabla, djembe, keyboards, guitar, percussion), Heather Wertheimer (vocals, guitar), Ty Burhoe (frame drum, shaker), Tim Ellis (guitar on "Om Mata Kali," "Jaya Shambho," "Hare Krishna," and "Nataraja"), Steve Gorn (bansuri bamboo flute, clarinet), Leraine Horstmanshoff (didjeridu), Amy Ippoliti (backing vocals on "Purnamadah," "Durge," and "Hare Krishna"), Jeff Leonard (bass), Michael Mandrell (guitar on "Jaya Shambho," "Durge") Matthew Montfort (lead guitar on "Nataraja"), Beth Noelle (backing vocals on "Purnamadah," "Amba Parameshwari"), Willow Noelle (laughter), Michael Stirling (tamboura), David Trasoff (sarod) and a full chorus featuring Karen Berg-Smith, Ty Burhoe, Arthur Cornell, Jarmila Darby, Leslie Ellis, Amy Gasskill, Jim and Lynea Gillen, Tasha Harmon, Leraine Horstmanshoff, Amy Ippoliti, Thomas Lifschutz, Beth Noelle, Georgia Peterson, Annapurna Sarada, Michael Stirling, Jim Walker, and Lauren Worsh.

Track List

>YTmusic. (Play all tracks.)

  1. Amba Parameshwari (8:11)
  2. Hare Krishna (6:36)
  3. Durge (9:01)
  4. Shiva Invocation (3:32)
  5. Jaya Shambho (11:02)
  6. Nataraja (13:06)
  7. Om Mata Kali (10:18)
  8. Purnamadah (8:35)