Ecstacy CD Cover

by Habib Khan and Band

Cave Hand

RPG Records CDNF-15917. CD-R- $19.98:



Ecstasy features musicians from the Planet Jammin' concert program of the band Ancient Future plus other famous jazz and Indian musicians in live recordings of world jazz jams.

Pandit Habib Khan is regarded as one of the best sitar players in the USA today. He began his training at the tender age of five under the strict eye of his accomplished father, Ustad Hameed Jaffer Khan. Habib Khan has carved out a distinct style of his own which is a blend of his father's traditional techniques and his own imaginative inventions. He performs classical Indian music concerts, in a jugalbandi with the unusual distinction that it is between sitar and guitar, and with the Indian Jazz Ensemble. Ecstasy showcases the jazzy, improvisational side of Habib Khan's music.

Photo of Ira Stein, Matthew Montfort, Pandit Habib Khan, George Brooks, Alan Kushan, and Danny Gottlieb.

From left to right: Ira Stein (piano), Matthew Montfort (scalloped fretboard guitar), Pandit Habib Khan (sitar), George Brooks (saxophone), Alan Kushan (santur), Danny Gottlieb (drums). Not pictured above: Swapan Chaudhuri (tabla), Hans Christian (cello, bass), Irina Mikhailova (vocals)

Track List

Photo of Swapan Chaudhuri and Habib Khan

Swapan Chaudhuri and Habib Khan

  1. Ecstasy (Habib Khan 5:25)
  2. Indian Blues (Habib Khan 4:59)
  3. Tears at Dawn (Habib Khan 5:43)
  4. Mountain Heights (Habib Khan 6:36)
  5. Triangle (Habib Khan 3:35)
  6. Raindrops (Habib Khan 5:18)
  7. Beautiful Face (Habib Khan 6:34)
  8. Waterfall (Habib Khan 421)
  9. Zeeshan (Habib Khan 6:44)
  10. Trio Song (Habib Khan 5:26)
  11. Piloo (Matthew Montfort 3:34)